Posted October 26, 2014 by Vik Booklover in Book Love, Giveaways, Home, ❤ Reviews by Vik ♡ / 0 Comments

Insidious review

Title: Insidious (Tales From The Dark Side)

Author: Aleatha Romig

Genre: Dark, Erotic Thriller

Cover Design: Melissa Ringuette

Release Date: Oct 21st 2014

Amazon | B&N | KOBO | iBooks

**Due to the dark and explicit nature of this book, it is recommended for mature audiences only. **

Dark desires…Deadly secrets…Devious deceptions…Nothing is exactly as it seems in INSIDIOUS, the new erotic thriller from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author ALEATHA ROMIG!When a powerful man is willing to risk everything for his own satisfaction, only one woman can beat him at his own game: his wife. Or so she thinks…“Let’s start with you calling me Stewart. Formalities seem unnecessary.”

Stewart Harrington is rich, gorgeous, and one of the most powerful men in Miami. He always gets what he wants. Anything is available to him for the right price.

Even me.

Being the wife of a mogul comes with all the perks, but being Mrs. Stewart Harrington comes with a few special requirements. I’ve learned to keep a part of myself locked away as my husband watches me submit to his needs. But the more he demands of me, the more beguiled he becomes and that’s to my advantage. So I keep fulfilling his fantasies and following his rules because he doesn’t know that what he’s playing is really my game. And winning is everything, right?



Have you got Aleatha’d yet?

The story comes from an Author who is notorious for shady deals and mind-fuckery. If you are familiar with her Consequences Series you know how it feels to get Aleatha’d… If you haven’t I feel bad for you. Ok not too bad as you still holding on to your sanity and furry puppies and kittens and giant lollipops. When I got offered to review this…

I thought I was prepared…

I thought I was ready…

 Pretty much my whole reading experience was this…


This dark journey of a beautiful young woman is not a pretty tale. It’s not even a tale. It’s a nightmare. But like a nightmare you get to wake up eventually… in any book you GET to wake up (~5-7 hours if you binge)… but remember you are in Aleatha land. Like the deals that are made, like the characters whose true intentions and meaning you do not understand until the end and even THEN, it is still shady. No! This nightmare just keeps on going until you scream in pain, as your insides twist and your palm are sweaty and your HAIR is being ripped out of your head… you live this nightmare…













…A beautiful façade waiting patiently to entrap the unwilling participant. I should know. At one time I was that unwilling participant, dragged into the depths of malevolence. That was years ago. I’ve learned my lessons well and played my role. No longer willing to be a victim, today I’m insidious.

This is our beginning to the nightmare… this is our only warning before turning back… but we do not… we are brave… we wear our read lipstick proud… put on our heels… put on our bitch face and strut our stuff burying all the pain inside so all that is visible is that beautiful facade of impenetrable strength.   Oh wait… this story is not about me! I kept getting lost in Vik’s story as we share a name. Rarely do  I read a character that has my name and even more impossible is that character being referred to as my favorite nickname. So Thank You Aleatha!

 Our Victoria may have led a life of privilege but she was not raised in a happy home. She did not have loving parents, parents who were so misguided that they fed her to a wolf to save their skin. Victoria is forced to make a hard choice at an age where the hardest choice she SHOULD have to make is which college to go to or which party to attend, but beyond the wisdom of her years she makes a deal with a devil. A deal with a devil to sell her soul for her family’s. That has got to be pure love with all that Victoria has to deal with. Oh she lives the life of luxury and unlimited funds and socialites but it’s all a pretty cage. She serves her time and does it in a style that Tony would approve… you know appearances are everything.

But there is a breaking point to all… When does the life of manipulation end when things are so much worse and complicated than they seem. Aleatha constructs a beautiful inception of a facade within a facade. There is no right, there is no wrong. How can there be? When you are thrown from the loop from hate to love, from disgust to pure lust, to hope to complete desolate existence of a soul. It’s been 1 weeks since I finished the book and I still can not recover. In my reading experience it is a win.

That is a positive I will take from this…
wait for continuation of a new story in this new dark series

*cue Twilight Zone Music*
or simply more inspiration from the book
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Together with her high-school sweetheart and husband of twenty-eight years, they’ve raised three children. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time with her family and friends. Her pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!INSIDIOUS is Aleatha’s seventh novel. It is her first time to delve into the world of erotic thrillers. The Consequences Series, her first series has been categorized as psychological thriller and dark romance. With INSIDIOUS, Aleatha took the twists and turns of CONSEQUENCES and turned up the heat.

CONSEQUENCES, her first novel, was released August 2011, by Xlibris Publishing. Then in October of 2012, Ms. Romig re-released CONSEQUENCES as an indie author. TRUTH, the sequel, was released October 30, 2012, and CONVICTED, the third in the series, was released October 8, 2013. Unexpectedly, the fourth book of the Consequences series came to life with REVEALED: THE MISSING YEARS. It is the fourth full-length novel in the series. It explores the years in CONVICTED that previously were only mentioned, as well as a complete character glossary and timeline. REVEALED was released May 20, 2014.

INSIDIOUS, the first released book from TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE will be released October 21, 2014. TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE will be a series of standalone, dark, erotic thrillers guaranteed to take you on a wild, hot, and dark ride. Each novel in the series will be independent of the next. The characters from one book will never be revisited. Instead, Aleatha leaves it up to her readers to imagine how each story will end while remembering that it is the journey that is the most fun.

Aleatha is a “Published Author’s Network” member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Brown and Miller Literary Associates.


Facebook | Twitter | Website Amazon | Goodread

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.